Oh My Sweet Carolina

I’m lying beside you, on this tiny bed meant only for one. But we’ve managed to squeeze ourselves onto it. I can feel you twitching against me as you fall asleep. But I just lie with eyes open, because I can’t fall asleep here. I focus as hard as I can on the soft light coming in through the window.
You shift next to me and I realize I had closed my eyes for what might have been a second, or a minute. I can’t tell. I’m just a little shocked at being awoken, because I can’t fall asleep here.
You look at me as you turn and ask, What are you thinking about?
I say, Nothing.
But of course, that isn’t true. I can’t tell you what happened though. I can’t tell you that in that second that my eyes were closed, I went somewhere else.
At first, I couldn’t see where I was. There was a light, one far brighter than the one coming in through your window. And a warmth, beyond what your mink blanket was giving me. I could feel…sunlight. The light of the sun in my eyes, and it’s tingling heat on my cheeks, the tip of my nose, the tops of my shoulders, my legs. Once I adjusted to the light, there you were. Standing beside me. Looking off into the distance. What were you looking at? I wondered for a brief moment, and then the wonder disappeared. Because you turned to look at me. You looked right at me and smiled. That smile, it was more than just a friendly gesture. It was telling me something. It was telling me,
We’re here.
We made it.
Isn’t this amazing and beautiful?
And I realized where we were. Atop a mountain ledge. We had just hiked all day to this spot, and now we’re here. I may have complained about a thing or two along the way, but we made it. All I could see was land, unadulterated and untouched earth. For as far as the eye could see. It stretched out beyond the horizon in any direction you looked. A small creek here, and a tired but stubborn tree there. The entrance to a cave, and the path we and so many others have traveled to find this place. This amazing and beautiful place.
I look back at you and smile. You haven’t taken your eyes off me. And I realize where I am.
We’re here.
We made it.
Isn’t this amazing and beautiful?
And I realize when we are. We stayed together for years, and now we’re here. We had a fight or two along the way, but we made it. All I can see is you. And you see me. And we are amazing and our life is beautiful.
You shift next to me and I open my eyes.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

