My Best Story Yet

So, there’s this story I need to tell. Yes, need. Because it’s kind of like something out of a movie. At least, that’s how I see it all in my head and how I imagine it will all go down.

Let’s rewind a little. Circa December 2004.
I was living in Waikiki, Hawaii in an apartment my parents were renting for me while I was in college. I barely went though. I’d sign up for classes that didn’t start until the afternoon because I would sleep in so late. Not because of all the crazy partying I did. Nope, none of that happened. I was extremely introverted. And depressed. If I wasn’t in school, I was at home. So on one of these days home, I was wasting away the day on Yahoo Games. That was the thing back then. For a while at least. Billiards on Yahoo Games. And in the game you could chat with whoever you were playing against. The normal conversation starter was A/S/L? Age/Sex/Location? I’d normally keep to minimal conversation. And that’s what I thought would happen on this particular night of internet pool. Boy, was I wrong.  The conversation with this guy started off kind of awkward and sexual. And I wasn’t into that. So I let him know, and he quickly apologized. Said he didn’t normally do that sort of thing. So we started talking about other things. We talked about everything. And then we decided to call each other. We stayed on the phone talking for about 4 hours. And so we talked the next day, and the day after that. It seems odd to say, it seems odd to imagine that it could actually happen, but we fell in love. We would have video chats every now and then. I’d have a short phone conversation with his moms and brother. And we made grand plans of running off together. Even though I lived in Hawaii and he lived in Iowa. Ah, young love.
So, I moved back home, and the grand plans crumbled and fell away. And we moved on. We somehow found each other again after some time. On the internet, of course. Always connected, but living our own separate lives. And it’s been almost a decade of talking to each other.

We have yet to meet. Face to face.

After all these years of talking about how it’s going to one day happen, it finally will.
Right now, I’m living in Germany as a military dependent. A story for another day. But I’ll be leaving very soon. And my first stop on my way back home is Iowa.

Leave a Reply

