Unsquandered Souls

 

image

I just got in from a little walk. The woods are absolutely beautiful. It doesn’t matter what season it is, what color the leaves are, or if there are any to be seen at all. I didn’t think much of it before, the trees and leaves and the whole ecosystem, and then I took a forestry class for school. That definitely changed my outlook on the way the forest is treated and how our natural resources are so quickly squandered for aesthetics and luxuries.
Right now winter and spring are at war for control over the weather. I’m not too fond of it. It gives me headaches. But my walk through the forest was enlightening. The heavy winds bellow down at you through the leaves. It causes the bare and dry tree trunks to sway and whisper the secrets of previous passersby. As I was walking out towards civilization, the wind blew again and tossed the fallen leaves from their resting, almost like little children running after a newcomer. It was as though they were reaching out to hold me and keep me there with them, all those thousands of crinkly, paper thin hands.
I will return, when their replacements have sprouted and the weather is a little nicer. When the green is back in full bloom.

Leave a Reply

